MTB Race: Munsyari, Uttarakhand


A National Level MTB Race was conducted by “Uttarakhand Forest Development Corporation” under the aegis of Cycling Federation of India at Munsyari, Uttarakhand, which is more than 300 Km. up north from Haldwani was one of the most beautiful and picturesque venue for the MTB event. 30 Elite Cyclists from Army, SSB, Haryana, Delhi, UP, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka struggled to win on this very technical route on 24th& 25th Nov. 2016. Race was flagged of By Sh. Harish Rawat, H’ble Chief Minister, Govt. of Uttarakhand. Total Prize money Rs. 5 Lakhs distributed to the winners up to 10th Positions.


The race was on a tough circuit of 5.9 Km., whereby more than half of the track was off road through the forest of Munsyari. This was to promote MTB Cycling in the region, which is now becoming popular in this part of the Country. The most important aspect of the event was of the exclusive race of 24 Km. for the local MTB cyclists of Munsyari and were awarded prize money Worth Rs. 75,000/-. The prizes were given away by Mr. Onkar Singh, Secretary General, Cycling Federation of India.


Results of Munsyari race is given below:-


Rank R. No. Name DOB State
1 3 BhairabDeuri 30.11.1983 Indian Army
2 18 K. Kiran Kumar Raju 31.03.1986 Karnataka
3 1 Purana Bahadur Pradhan 18.11.1984 Indian Army



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.